Posted on

Write Daily, Write On!

Some days writing is truly as easy as breathing, others not so much.  The dream of writing for a living is a far cry from actually sitting my ass in the chair on a daily basis and going through the motions whether I feel like it or not.  It’s amazing how distracting the small things are when we just don’t feel like writing.  The mind wanders to bills and problems.  The view outside of the window suddenly calls to want to mow the grass.  We remember that we haven’t called mom, and even though she is going to hound us about our scarred and battered love life, it seems like a good time to get it over.  Pets need feeding even though they are overweight.  I need feeding even though I could stand to miss a meal.  COFFEE!  Must make coffee.  And those clothes aren’t going to exactly fold themselves, now are they? 

All these things, and a million more, plague the life of a writer.  Weeks can go by without so much as a word set to paper.  Unfortunately, if we wait for inspiration to strike, we may just find ourselves never writing.  What a vast shame.  With all those glorious tales of fantasy and woe trying to clamor to the surface, we prefer instead to clean the cat box (some days) to applying a little moxy, and keeping our asses glued to the chair.

This is my attempt to break such a vicious cycle.  

Blogging >.<  What the hell?  Not exactly known as the blogging type but I have heard from the absolute best that it is one sure fired way to get those creative juices at LEAST flowing sluggishly through the writing vein.  I am not attempting a Shakespearean downpour of purple prose, nor am I expecting a blog to be the Holy Grail for opening up my bear trap mind to the exotic land of free flow fiction.  But what I do expect of myself is an honest and blatant attempt at staying on track.  I expect to come here and get the keyboard hot enough to spill over into my work.  Maybe pull out those half cocked, half-finished manuscripts, and give ’em a run in the sunlight.  I say that “Horror writers do it in the dark.”  Well, dark is a dangerous and creepy place to write the things that I enjoy writing.  And I won’t stop doing that.  But it’s damn near impossible to click-clack away at 3 a.m. every night of the godforsaken year when there is clearly ample writing time throughout the day.  In between the chores, before kiddo gets off the bus, after the grocery runs and soul sucking bill paying excursions, the ball games, the gym…you get the idea.

AND here I go…careening off into this new-found cyber domain that will surely be chock full of random rants and half digested thoughts, twisted turns and quirky fluff.  Wish me luck.  I’mma need it.

About Lore Wilde

Writer of horror and flash fiction, student, fast pitch softball mom. Lover of the internet and the gym (strange combo). Always on Spotify jamming out, on a nature trail, in the water, on a trip, cooking, writing, at a live concert, exercising, yoga, meditiating. Prone to sarcastic rants, telling ghost stories, bitching about money or having perpetual fun. Interested in hanging out with creative, kewl people with stories to share. I adore writers...professional, published, or "just for fun". I read a lot, write a lot, and type faster than Hell burns.

Leave a Reply

