Posted on

The Writer Writes What The Storyteller Says

If I had been born hundreds of years ago as a native American, I would have been a Storyteller.  Wandering from tribe to village, coast to coast, I would have pursued optimal festive times to visit and share my tales with children and the elderly alike.  I would have been well fed and happily received, bringing trinkets to share and embellish my stories.

But alas, I was not born hundreds of years ago, and I only have the smallest traces of native American in my veins.  I struggle with this because I am a storyteller.  I do not consider myself to be as proficient at actual writing.  Of course, I am practicing, and great things come from diligent practice.  Still, it is a struggle some days for my inner writer to write what the storyteller says.  I’ve never met another person who seems to have these troubles.  They either tend to be proficient writers in their own right, and never struggle with their inner storyteller, or they tell glorious stories but have never considered writing them.  Are there others out there that are like me?  I wonder.  How do they address their conundrum?  Is it possible to overcome this simply by practice?  I certainly hope so, because my only true desire is to be successful at writing!

About Lore Wilde

Writer of horror and flash fiction, student, fast pitch softball mom. Lover of the internet and the gym (strange combo). Always on Spotify jamming out, on a nature trail, in the water, on a trip, cooking, writing, at a live concert, exercising, yoga, meditiating. Prone to sarcastic rants, telling ghost stories, bitching about money or having perpetual fun. Interested in hanging out with creative, kewl people with stories to share. I adore writers...professional, published, or "just for fun". I read a lot, write a lot, and type faster than Hell burns.

3 responses to “The Writer Writes What The Storyteller Says

  1. lnahay

    This is something I’ve recently realized about myself- wanting to be a storyteller as well as a writer. In conversations, I have several other relative events I am DYING to share, but I fear people misunderstand my reasons for speaking. It’s not about stealing someone’s moment, demanding an audience, or competing. I just want to share a story. But, I’ve decided it’s better for me to stick to writing. That’s where I feel more grounded and appropriate. Maybe it’s fragments of an ancient storyteller life still clinging to our subconscious and warring with writing 🙂

  2. Ziggy ⋅

    This is fascinating. It reminds me of something from my highschool days. I was in a dramatic arts festival competing with other students in various categories, and I had decided to enter the storytelling category. I picked my story (the origin story from Watership Down) and had practiced and rehearsed, knew every word and every pause, every description. I went up, told me story, and other than speaking a bit too fast at the beginning (as evidenced by my drama teacher waving to me madly in the audience- slow the eff down!) I thought it went well.
    Then another student, who I knew hadn’t rehearsed at all, went up and told her tale. It was good, but felt off the cuff.
    So then they handed out the awards, and I was second place. The pull-it-out-of-her-ass girl had won. And my feedback? I was too rehearsed. Storytelling is not the same as writing, it is not the same as acting out a set scene which you have studied and gone over and over. It is from the soul, it is a live thing.
    Suddenly I completely understood and accepted where I’d gone wrong.
    So this all to say, I understand what you’re saying, and think you definitely have a storytelling soul, and that’s why your writing always feels so visceral and alive and like..flowing water, to me. I think it’s great.

Leave a Reply

