Posted on

Protag vs Antag

Gosh, I love my bad guys.  I always walk a fine of making my antag a protag.  Reading over my work is like watching a slasher try to explain himself.  I see the problem here, but feel at a loss to change it.  In my defense, I honestly do want the good guy to win.  But my bad guys hold more weight emotionally, logically, and articulately.  I need to go back to watching people.  I need to recognize and write the superhero in the everyday man.  …The mom who lifts the minivan to unbuckle her child from the car seat…the dad who fights cancer to make sure his daughter doesn’t end up with a loser.  

I think it’s a sign of the times that I beef my antagonists.  It’s so much easier to be the bad guy, and more profitable.  What kind of world do we live in where a run of the mill, articulate but standoffish white chick writes her antagonists more enjoyable than her beloved protagonist??  A world on the edge.

About Lore Wilde

Writer of horror and flash fiction, student, fast pitch softball mom. Lover of the internet and the gym (strange combo). Always on Spotify jamming out, on a nature trail, in the water, on a trip, cooking, writing, at a live concert, exercising, yoga, meditiating. Prone to sarcastic rants, telling ghost stories, bitching about money or having perpetual fun. Interested in hanging out with creative, kewl people with stories to share. I adore writers...professional, published, or "just for fun". I read a lot, write a lot, and type faster than Hell burns.

One response to “Protag vs Antag

  1. Rodert Daniels ⋅

    Hi Lore…Great blog in case I haven’t already told you 🙂 I can certainly relate to this post. My work usually ends up with two antags (which Mr. Alcorn does not approve of….boo hoo) and one of them usually dies which makes the other the protag I guess.

Leave a Reply

